Plant engineering

The WITTERRA humus plant consists of three main plant components:  
 

Treatment basin

The ground-level concrete treatment basin with maximum dimensions of 20 x 120 m is open at the front and has side walls up to 1.75 m high.
 

Aeration and mixing technology

Up to five aeration and mixing screws made of stainless steel, mounted on a two-axis running unit, ensure optimum aeration and mixing in the entire volume of the treatment basin.
 

Liquid dosing

An eccentric screw pump, which is also located on the barrel unit, draws liquid from a shaft located on the side wall and introduces it into the material bed immediately in front of the screws. 

 

The organic material introduced is decomposed by aerobic microorganisms in the humus plant. The output product is a nutrient-stable humus that can be used as a fertilizer or peat supplement in the potting soil production. The output has a dry matter content of 45-60 %, depending on the input materials and the process control.

 
 
IMG_20171006_121428.jpg
DSCN2482.jpg
Procedure

Start-up phase
The liquid residues are fed into the fermenting material once a day. In the same operation, the
material is completely aerated and mixed. This starts the activity of the microorganisms as well as the biological stabilization and the temperature within the material increases.

Biooxidation phase

After only a few days, temperatures above 70˚C are reached, through which the organic material is sanitized. This is also the active phase of the process, in which easily degradable organic components are rapidly decomposed. Due to the high temperature the water evaporates.


Maturation phase
In the last weeks of the process, the material is stabilized and enriched with humus molecules. No more solid or liquid material is added. This last phase is characterized by transformation processes of the organic matter, the maximum expression of which is the formation of humic substances.

Process flow

The humus plant functions as a batch process in which liquid residues are continuously added.

The process sequence can be divided into five steps:

01

Filling with dry material

The plant is filled with dry carrier material. Depending on the size of the plant, this is done up to a
bulk height of 1.70 m. A description of suitable carrier materials can be found here.

02

Liquid dosing

The daily dosing of the liquid material takes place directly in front of the aeration screws in order to incorporate the liquid as quickly as possible. Which liquid residues can be used, can be found here

03

Aeration & mixing

The entire material bed is ventilated and mixed daily in one operation. This is essential for the aerobic degradation processes in the humus plant in order to supply the microorganisms with sufficient oxygen and nutrients.

04

Humus formation

The humus formation takes place within 8 - 12 weeks under process biological supervision with a subsequent maturation process of 2 - 4 weeks.

05

Humus extraction

After the cycle is complete, all the material is removed from the system. New material can then be introduced and a new cycle started. Depending on the requirements, the finished humus can be further processed by screening or pelletizing.

 
 
 
IMG_20171006_121428.jpg
daniel-sturgess-daniel_sturgess-bRpCIc8p
IMG-20181023-WA0020_edited_edited.jpg
Input materials - solid & liquid

Liquid residues

The application possibilities of liquid residues in the WITTERRA humus plant are very wide. For the introduction of liquids into the material bed, they must be pumpable and, depending on their density, should not exceed a dry matter content (DS) of 20%, in some cases even up to 25%. In addition, the liquids should be free of ingredients that may have a biologically inhibitory effect, such as cleaning agents. Ideal liquid input materials are:

 

  • Farm manure from animal husbandry

  • Fermentation products from agricultural biogas and biomethane plants

  • Fermentation products from industrial biogas plants (food waste, biowaste)

  • Sewage sludge from municipal and industrial wastewater treatment

  • Industrial wastewater, e.g. from food production



Solid structural material

The most important task of the structural material is the storage of oxygen and the provision of a large surface for the microorganisms. The dry matter content of the structural material should normally be above 50%. Suitable structural materials are:

  • Straw

  • Horse, cow, pig manure 

  • Champost

  • Wood chippings

  • Green waste

  • Fresh compost

  • Dried fermentation residues

 
 
IMG_20171006_121428.jpg
Starting materials - high quality humus fertilizer

The only raw material of the WITTERRA humus plant is a light and structure-rich humus fertilizer with a dry matter content of above 50%, rich in organic carbon as well as humic and fulvic acid, which can be used as peat substitute in the potting-soil production soil without further additives or as an organic fertilizer. Depending on the requirements, the humus can be sieved or pelletized.
 

The results of the seedling tests of the Lower Saxony Chamber of Agriculture prove the plant compatibility of our humus fertilizer:
 

“No visible damage occurred to the bush beans and chinese cabbage plants in any variant and there was no reduction in fresh mass yield. Plant-damaging substances were thus not detectable in the tested proportions of "Sample 2" in the substrate."

The humus fertilizer achieves the same or even better results in terms of fresh mass and germination number than the reference standard peat substrate, as shown in the table below.

IMG_20171006_121428.jpg
Gewächshaus
Result

Humus custom-made: depending on the process and the input materials, the nutrients in the end product can be controlled to reach in the final product the exact properties that our customers want. If the humus is to be used as a fertilizer, nutrients are added in a targeted manner via the structural material. If the humus is to be used as a peat substitute, the proportion of fibrous and nutrient-poor materials is increased.

 
 
IMG_20171006_121428.jpg
Added value

Groundwater protection

Through the humification process, the nutrients of fermentation residues and liquid manure are stored in long-chain humus molecules. This minimizes the leaching into the groundwater, especially of nitrate.

Volume reduction

Liquid residues are turned into a solid humus fertilizer. From 10,000 t of liquid manure, 3,400 t of HUMUS with 50% residual moisture are produced. The continuous supply of liquid effectively relieves the required storage volume.
 

Sanitization

The humus plant neutralises existing bacteria through the self-generated heat of over 70°C. The humus fertiliser is therefore demonstrably sanitised.
 

Humus production

Aerobic treatment produces high-quality humus from organic residues, which can be used as plant soil or for soil improvement and stores CO2 in the long term.

Full processing

The humus plant is suitable for the complete processing of liquid residues. All liquids are refined into high-quality humus fertilizer. Excess seepage juices or percolate do not occur with our process.

Green Field

Full treatment

Groundwater

protection

Volume
reduction

Humus
production

Hygienisation

Anlagentechnik

Die WITTERRA-Humusanlage besteht aus drei wesentlichen Anlagenteilen: 
 

Behandlungsbecken

Das ebenerdige Behandlungsbecken aus Beton mit maximalen Abmessungen von 20 x 120 m ist stirnseitig offen und hat bis zu 1,80 m hohe Seitenwände. 
 

Belüftungs- und Mischtechnik

Bis zu fünf Belüftungs- und Mischschnecken aus Edelstahl, die auf einer zweiachsigen Laufeinheit montiert sind, sorgen für optimale Belüftung und Durchmischung im gesamten Volumen des Behandlungsbeckens. 
 

Flüssigkeitsdosierung

Eine Exzenterschneckenpumpe, die ebenfalls auf der Laufeinheit sitzt, saugt Flüssigkeit aus einem an der Seitenwand befindlichen Schacht an und bringt diese unmittelbar vor den Schnecken in das Materialbett ein. 

 

Durch aerobe Mikroorganismen wird in der Humusanlage das eingebrachte organische Material zersetzt. Das Ausgangsprodukt ist ein nährstoffstabiler Humus, der als Dünger oder Torfergänzungsstoff eingesetzt werden kann. Das Endprodukt hat einen TS-Gehalt von 45-55 %, abhängig von den Inputstoffen und der Prozessführung.

 
 
IMG_20171006_121428.jpg
DSCN2482.jpg
Verfahren

Startphase
Die flüssigen Reststoffe werden einmal am Tag in das Materialbett eingetragen. Im gleichen Arbeitsgang wird das Material vollständig belüftet und durchmischt. Dadurch beginnt die Aktivität der Mikroorganismen sowie der biologische Abbau und die Temperatur innerhalb des Materialbettes steigt.

Biooxidationsphase
Bereits nach wenigen Tagen werden Temperaturen über 70˚C erreicht, durch die das organische Material hygienisiert wird. Dies ist gleichzeitig die aktive Phase des Prozesses, in der leicht abzubauende organische Komponenten schnell zersetzt werden.


Reifungsphase
In den letzten Wochen des Prozesses wird das Materialbett stabilisiert und mit Humus-Molekülen angereichert. Es wird kein festes oder flüssiges Material mehr zugeführt. Diese letzte Phase wird von Umwandlungsprozessen der organischen Substanz charakterisiert, deren maximaler Ausdruck die Bildung von Huminstoffen ist.

 

Prozessablauf

Die Humusanlage funktioniert als Batchverfahren, bei dem kontinuierlich flüssige Reststoffe zugegeben werden. Der Prozessablauf lässt sich in fünf Schritte unterteilen:

01

Befüllung mit Trägermaterial

Die Anlage wird mit organischem Trägermaterial befüllt. Je nach Anlagengröße erfolgt dies bis zu einer Schütthöhe von 1,70 m. Eine Beschreibung geeigneter Trägermaterialien finden sie hier.

02

Flüssigkeitsdosierung

Die tägliche Dosierung des flüssigen Materials erfolgt direkt vor den Belüftungsschnecken, um die Flüssigkeit schnellstmöglich einzuarbeiten. Welche flüssigen Reststoffe eingesetzt werden können, finden Sie hier

03

Belüftung & Durchmischung

Das gesamte Materialbett wird täglich in einem Arbeitsgang belüftet und durchmischt. Für die aeroben Abbauprozesse in der Humusanlage ist dies elementar, um die Mikroorganismen mit ausreichend Sauerstoff und Nährstoffen zu versorgen.

04

Humusbildung

Die Humusbildung erfolgt innerhalb von 8 - 12 Wochen unter prozessbiologischer Betreuung mit anschließendem Reifeprozess von 2 - 4 Wochen.

05

Humusentnahme

Nachdem der Zyklus beendet ist, wird das gesamte Material aus der Anlage entnommen. Anschließend kann neues Material eingebracht und ein neuer Zyklus gestartet werden. Je nach Anforderung kann der fertige Humus durch Absieben oder Pelletieren weiter  aufbereitet werden.

 
 
 
IMG_20171006_121428.jpg
Eingangsstoffe - fest & flüssig

Flüssige Reststoffe
Die Einsatzmöglichkeiten von flüssigen Reststoffen in der WITTERRA-Humusanlage sind sehr vielfältig. Für die Einbringung von Flüssigkeiten in das Materialbett müssen diese pumpfähig sein und sollten je nach Beschaffenheit einen Trockensubstanz-Gehalt (TS) von 20%, in manchen Fällen sogar bis 25%, nicht überschreiten. Außerdem sollten die Flüssigkeiten frei von Inhaltsstoffen sein, die biologisch hemmend wirken können, wie z.B. Reinigungs- oder Arzneimittel. Ideale flüssige Eingangsstoffe sind: 

 

  • Wirtschaftsdünger aus der Tierhaltung

  • Gärprodukte aus landwirtschaftlichen Biogasanlagen

  • Gärprodukte aus industriellen Biogasanlagen (Speisereste, Bioabfall)

  • Klärschlamm aus der kommunalen und industriellen Abwasseraufbereitung

  • Industrielle Abwässer, z.B. aus der Lebensmittelherstellung



Festes Strukturmaterial

Wichtigste Aufgabe des Strukturmaterials ist die Speicherung von Sauerstoff und die Bereitstellung einer großen Oberfläche für die Mikroorganismen. Der TS-Gehalt des Strukturmaterials sollte in der Regel oberhalb von 50%  liegen. Als Strukturmaterial geeignet, sind:

  • Stroh

  • Pferde-, Rinder-, Schweinemist 

  • Champost

  • Holzhäcksel

  • Grünschnitt

  • Frischkompost

  • Getrocknete Gärreste

 
IMG_20171006_121428.jpg
Gewächshaus
Resultat

Humus nach Maß: Abhängig vom Prozess und von den Inputstoffen können die Nährstoffe im Endprodukt gesteuert werden, um genau die Produkteigenschaften herzustellen, die sich unsere Kunden wünschen. Soll der Humus als Dünger eingesetzt werden, werden Nährstoffe über das Strukturmaterial gezielt zugeführt. Für den Einsatz des Humus als Torfersatzprodukt wird der Anteil faseriger und nährstoffarmer Materialien erhöht.

 
IMG_20171006_121428.jpg
Ausgangsstoffe - hochwertiger Humusdünger

Einziger Ausgangsstoff der WITTERRA-Humusanlage ist lockerer, strukturreicher Humusdünger mit einem TS-Gehalt von 50%, reich an organischem Kohlenstoff sowie Humin- und Fulvosäure, der ohne weitere Zusätze direkt als torffreie Pflanzenerde genutzt werden kann. Je nach Anforderung kann der Humusanlage eine Siebung oder Pelletierung nachgeschaltet werden.
 

Die Ergebnisse der Keimpflanzentests der Landwirtschaftskammer Niedersachsen belegen die Pflanzenverträglichkeit unseres Humusdüngers:
 

​„An den Buschbohnen und Chinakohlpflanzen traten in keiner Variante sichtbare Schäden auf und es kam zu keiner Reduktion des Frischmasse-Ertrages. Pflanzenschädigende Stoffe waren somit in den geprüften Anteilen von „Probe 2“ im Substrat nicht nachweisbar.“

Der Humusdünger erreicht bei Frischmasse und Keimzahl gleiche oder sogar bessere Ergebnise als das Referenzsubstrat Torf, wie untere Tabelle belegt.

 
 
IMG_20171006_121428.jpg
Mehrwert

Grundwasserschutz

Durch den Humifizierungsprozess werden die Nährstoffe von Gärresten und Gülle in langkettigen Humusmolekülen gespeichert. Dadurch wird die Ausspülung in das Grundwasser, insbesondre von Nitrat, minimiert.

Volumenreduzierung

Aus flüssigen Reststoffen wird ein fester Humusdünger. Aus 10.000 t Gülle entstehen 3.400 t HUMUS mit 50% Restfeuchte. Durch die kontinuierliche Flüssigkeitszufuhr wird das erforderliche Lagervolumen wirksam entlastet.

Hygeneiserung

Die Humusanlage neutralisiert durch die selbsterzeugte Wärme von über 70°C vorhandene Bakterien. Der Humusdünger ist also nachweislich hygienisiert.

Humusherstellung

Durch die aerobe Behandlung wird aus organischen Reststoffen ein hochwertiger Humus hergestellt, der als Pflanzenerde oder zur Bodenverbesserung eingesetzt werden kann und langfristig CO2 speichert.

Vollaufbereitung

Die Humusanlage eignet sich zur Vollaufbereitung von flüssigen Reststoffen. Sämtliche Flüssigkeiten werden zu hochwertiger Humusdünger veredelt. Überschüssige Sickersäfte oder Perkolat fallen bei unserem Verfahren nicht an.  

Green Field

Vollaufbereitung

Grundwasser-

schutz

Volumen-reduzierung

Humus-herstellung

Hygienisierung

Copyright ©2020 WITTERRA / Datenschutz / Impressum